You are here:

Contact Us

Our offices are located in:

Sorenson Arts and Education Complex (SAEC) 2280 on the campus of the University of Utah

Our mailing address is:

Department of Special Education
1721 Campus Center Drive SAEC 2280
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9253
(801) 581-8121

Campus Map

STAFF

Susan Johnston

Susan Johnston

Department Chair
SAEC 2293
susan.johnston@utah.edu
801-581-5187

Ryan Ring

Ryan Ring

Administrative Assistant
SAEC 2288
ryan.ring@utah.edu
801-587-7887

Kaitlin Lindsey

Kaitlin Lindsey

Academic Advisor
SAEC 2282
k.lindsey@utah.edu
801-581-4764

Janet Siler

Janet Siler

 Executive Secretary
SAEC 2280
janet.siler@utah.edu
801-581-8121

 FACULTY

Chris Bischke

Chris Bischke

Career-Line Professor
SAEC 2269
chris.bischke@utah.edu
801-585-3925
Program Coordinator: Visual Impairments

Maggie Crockett

 
Maggie Crockett
Career-Line Professor
SAEC 2296
margret.crockett@utah.edu
801-581-3680
Special Education Core; Severe Disabilities; BCBA

Julia Fleming

julia Fleming

Career-Line Instructor
SAEC 2284
falcey.julia@utah.edu
801-585-5526
Mild/Moderate Disabilities;
Special Education Core

Michael Hardman

 
Michael Hardman
Professor
michael.hardman@utah.edu
801-581-8121
Severe Disabilities 

Leanne Hawken

Leanne Hawken

Professor
SAEC 2287
leanne.hawken@utah.edu
801-581-5968
BCBA;
Special Education Core

Sarah Ivy
SARAH IVY
Assistant Professor
SAEC 2273
sarah.ivy@utah.edu
801-213-8555
Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education; Deafblind

Matt Jameson

Matt Jameson
Associate Professor
SAEC 2289
matt.jameson@utah.edu
801-585-3742
Program Coordinator: Severe Disabilities

Susan Johnston

 
Susan Johnston
Professor/Department Chair
SAEC 2293
susan.johnston@utah.edu
801-581-5187
Special Education Core; Program Coordinator:  Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education

Sharlene Kiuhara
Assistant Professor
SAEC 2275
s.kiuhara@utah.edu
801-585-1176
Mild/Moderate Disabilities;
Special Education Core
John McDonnell
 
 John McDonnell
Professor
SAEC 2295
john.mcdonnell@utah.edu
801-585-0057
Severe Disabilities

Catherine Nelson

Catherine Nelson
Associate Professor
SAEC 2285
cathy.nelson@utah.edu
801-585-3260
Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education; Severe Disabilities;
Program Coordinator:  Deafblind
Breda O'Keeffe
Breda O'Keeffe
Associate Professor
SAEC 2294
breda.okeeffe@utah.edu
801-585-1817
Program Coordinator:
Mild/Moderate Disabilities

Rob O'Neill

Rob O'Neill
Professor
SAEC 2283
rob.oneill@utah.edu
801-581-3913
Mild/Moderate Disabilities;
Program Coordinator: BCBA

Kristen Paul

 
Kristen Paul
Career-Line Instructor
SAEC 2265
kristen.paul@utah.edu
801-581-3080
Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education; Deafblind

Nicole Pilling

NICOLE PILLING
Career-Line Instructor
SAEC 2267
nicole.pilling@utah.edu
801-581-5923
Deaf & Hard of Hearing
Shamby Polychronis 
SHAMBY POLYCHRONIS
Career-Line Instructor
SAEC 2276
shamby.polychronis@utah.edu
801-581-8034
Severe Disabilities

Sondra Segenga

Sondra STegenga
Assistant Professor
SAEC 2290
sondra.stegenga@utah.edu
801-581-3318
Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education; Severe Disabilities

Ryan Walker

 
Ryan Walker
Career-Line Instructor
SAEC 2263
walker.ryan@utah.edu
801-587-9075
Severe Disabilities;
Distance Education Coordinator

Emeritus Faculty

Mary Buchanan Iva Dene McCleary
Clif Drew Clifford J. Drew Jeannette Misake Jeanette Misaka
Barbara Gibbons Ann Williams Vickery
Dixie Huefner Dixie Huefner   Joan S. Wolf

Kathy Hill

Kathy Hill

Andrea McDonnell

Andrea McDonnell

Cheryl Winston

Cheryl Winston    

Mission Statement   |   Strategic Plan    |   Giving to the U

Last Updated: 9/5/19