Skip to content

Contact Us

Our offices are located in:

Sorenson Arts and Education Complex (SAEC) 2280 on the campus of the University of Utah

Campus Map

Our mailing address is:

Department of Special Education
1721 Campus Center Drive, SAEC 2280
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-9253
(801) 581-8121

Staff

Susan Johnston

Matt Jameson

Department Chair
SAEC 2295
matt.jameson@utah.edu
801-585-3742

Image not available

Gabriel Echeverria

Administrative Assistant
SAEC 2288
gabriel.echeverria@utah.edu
801-587-7887

Kaitlin Lindsey

Kaitlin Lindsey

Academic Advisor
SAEC 2282
k.lindsey@utah.edu
801-581-4764

Janet Siler

Janet Siler

 Executive Secretary
SAEC 2280
janet.siler@utah.edu
801-581-8121

 Faculty

Chris Bischke

Chris Bischke

Career-Line Professor
SAEC 2269
chris.bischke@utah.edu
801-585-3925
Program Coordinator: Visual Impairments

Maggie Crockett

 

Maggie Crockett

Career-Line Professor
SAEC 2296
margret.crockett@utah.edu
801-581-3680
Special Education Core; Severe Disabilities; BCBA

Julia Fleming

Julia Fleming

Career-Line Assistant Professor 
SAEC 2284
falcey.julia@utah.edu
801-585-5526
Mild/Moderate Disabilities;
Special Education Core

Image of Sarah Ivy

Sarah Ivy

Associate Professor
SAEC 2289
sarah.ivy@utah.edu 
801-213-8555
Preschool/Early Intervention Special 
Education; Program Coordinator: Deafblind

Image of Matt Jameson

Matt Jameson

Professor/Department Chair
SAEC 2295
matt.jameson@utah.edu
801-585-3742
Program Coordinator: Severe Disability

Image of Susan Johnston

Susan Johnston

Professor
SAEC 2293
susan.johnston@utah.edu
801-581-5187
Special Education Core; Program Coordinator: Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education

Image of Jennifer Jones

Jennifer Jones

Career-Line Assistant Professor 
SAEC 2294
jen.jones@utah.edu
801-581-3080
Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education

 

Sharlene Kiuhara

Associate Professor
SAEC 2285
s.kiuhara@utah.edu
801-585-1176
Mild/Moderate Disabilities;
Special Education Core

Kirsten Lansey

Kirsten Lansey

Assistant Professor
SAEC 2273
k.lansey@utah.edu
801-585-0557
Severe Disabilities
Image of Breda O'Keeffe
 

Breda O'Keeffe

Associate Professor
SAEC 2287
breda.okeeffe@utah.edu
801-585-1817
Program Coordinator: 
Mild/Moderate Disabilities
Image of Rob O'Neill

Rob O'Neill

Professor
SAEC 2283
rob.oneill@utah.edu
801-581-3913
Mild/Moderate Disabilities
Program Coordinator: BCBA
Nicole Pilling

Nicole Pilling

Career-Line Assistant Professor
SAEC 2267
nicole.pilling@utah.edu
801-581-5923
Program Coordinator: Deaf & Hard of Hearing

Shamby Polychronis

Shamby Polychronis

Career-Line Assistant Professor 
SAEC 2276
shamby.polychronis@utah.edu
801-581-8034
Severe Disabilities
Sondra Segenga 

Sondra Stegenga

Assistant Professor 
SAEC 2290
sondra.stegenga@utah.edu
801-581-3318
Preschool/Early Intervention Special Education; Severe Disabilities

Ryan Walker

Ryan Walker

Career-Line Assistant Professor
SAEC 2263
walker.ryan@utah.edu
801-587-9075
Severe Disabilities;
Distance Education Coordinator

Image of Wesley Wilson

 

Wesley Wilson

Assistant Professor 
SAEC 2265
wesley.wilson@utah.edu
801-581-5968
Program Coordinator: 
Adapted Physical Education

Emeritus Faculty

Mary Buchanan Iva Dene McCleary
Dixie Huefner Dixie Huefner Jeannette Misake Jeanette Misaka
Barbara Gibbons Joan S. Wolf
Kathy Hill Kathy Hill Image of Andrea McDonnell Andrea McDonnell

Image of Cheryl Winston

Cheryl Winston

Kristen paul

Kristen Paul
Catherine Nelson Catherine Nelson Leanne Hawken Leanne Hawken
John McDonnell
John McDonnell Michael Hardman Michael Hardman

Mission Statement   |   Strategic Plan    |   Giving to the U

Why Utah? A guide for future graduate students

Last Updated: 9/14/21